Home >> Former Chairmen >> Awards & Honours

Prof. Udupi Ramachandra Rao

1976 Padma Bhushan
1973 Group Achievement Award by NASA, USA
1975 Medal of Honour by Academy of Sciences, USSR
1975 Karnataka Rajyotsava Award
1975 Hari Om Vikram Sarabhai Award
1975 Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award
1980 National Design Award
1980 Vasvik Research Award
1983 Karnataka Rajyotsava Award
1987 PC Mahalnobis Medal
1993 Meghnad Saha Medal
1994 P.C. Chandra Puraskar Award
1994 Electronics Man of the Year Award
1995 Om Bhasin Award
1995 Zaheer Hussain Memorial Award
1995 Aryabhata Award
1995 Jawaharhal Nehru Award
1996 SK Mitra Birth Centenary Gold Medal
1997 Yudhvir Foundation Award
1997 Rabindranath Tagore Award of Viswa Bharati University
1999 Gujar Mal Modi Science Foundation Award
2001 Nadoja Award from Kannada University, Hampi
2001 Life Time Contribution Award in Engineering of INAE
2002 Sir M. Visvesvaraya Memorial Award
2003 Press Bureau of India Award
2004 Star of India Award from Vishwabharathy Foundation, Hyderabad
2004 Special Award 2004, Karnataka Media Academy
2007 Life Time Achievement Award of Indian Space Research Organisation
2007 Distinguished Scientist Gold Medal of the Karnataka Science & Technology Academy.
2007 Vishwamanava Award
2008 Jawaharlal Nehru Birth Centenary Award for 2007-2008 from ISCA
2008 A.V. Rama Rao Technology Award
International Awards
1991 Yuri Gagarin Medal of USSR
1992 Allan D Emil Award on International Cooperation
1994 Frank J Malina Award (International Astronautical Federation)
1996 Vikram Sarabhai Medal of COSPAR
1997 "Outstanding Book Award" of the International Academy of Astronautics for the Book "Space Technology for Sustainable Development"
2000 Eduard Dolezal Award of ISPRS
2004 The prestigious Space Magazine, Space News has named Prof. U.R. Rao as one of the Top 10 International Space Personalities who have made a substantial difference in civil, commerce and military space in the world since 1989
2005 Theodore Von Karman Award which is the highest Award of the International Academy of Astronautics.
2013 first Indian Space Scientist to be inducted into the highly Prestigious "Satellite Hall of Fame" at Washington DC, USA
Home  |  About Us  |  ISRO Centres   |  Launch Vehicles  |  Satellites  |  Ground Facilities  |  Our Chairman
Related Links   |   Sitemap  |  FAQ   |  Feedback  |  Terms of Use  |  Privacy Policy  |  Contact Us  |  Disclaimer
Copyright 2008 ISRO, All Rights Reserved.
Best viewed with a resolution of 1024x768 with Internet Explorer 7.0